Is MX Linux really that popular?

No offence, but I generally didn't see anybody using MX Linux in my circle and from the past 1 year, I see that MX Linux is on top at Distrowatch. Is MX Linux really that popular? Do you use it? If yes, how's your experience with it?

It would appear so. I often see references to it in the Usenet discussion groups about Ubuntu and Mint.

That said, I don't know whether it has surpassed either Ubuntu or Mint in popularity, and those two have already for many years been the sweethearts of (Windows-using) computer magazine editors. :man_shrugging:

Nope. :stuck_out_tongue: For that matter, I've also never used either of the *buntus or Mint. :wink:

1. Distrowatch means about nothing in terms of "popularity". A "popular" OS will be loaded by total newbies, none of them ever heard about distrowatch.

2. If you want to have some insights on a distro users population, check their forums. Forum user population are in logical correlation with global user figure.

MX forums are just anecdotical. (btw Mint forum are also tiny, Mint is really overstated)

So to answer the OP's question, it might be most popular among Newbies. :wink:

Never tried MX Linux myself. Installed it once on VM to have a look at it, but idk, I didn't like it somehow and erased the VM rather quickly.

It might be interesting for non-newbies though, since they offer an i368-Edition which most Linux distros got rid of lately.

No, but they have a lot of real fans some of whom regularly click the distro on distrowatch and also promote the distro through other channels. I personally like the distro as well. I used to test their alpha and beta ISOs and translate their custom applications into German.

1 Like

Obviously they must click on distrowatch more time than the latest crop of Manjaro users do, Lol
That was how Manjaro got to the top of the distrowatch crop ? :wink: