Is it better to update Manjaro via terminal than via pamac-manager?

I have been using Linux for thirteen years, but recently I have installed Manjaro for the first time. When I listen to the various podcasts and YouTube channels, I sometimes hear that updating Manjaro through the GUI is dangerous and that something might go wrong. Is that even true? Should I develop a habit of updating via terminal? Or should I ignore those words and trust the GUI?

Ideally the best best practice is to update in a TTY so that way you are completely logged out and nothing is in use so you don't update things that are actively running.

I have very little experience updating via GUI, but I never had any issues when I did.

2 Likes

it is better to update in CLI/TTY on almost all distributions as it is usually faster and gives a better overview over the updates and potential errors.

There were some updates that were announced with the suggestion to do them in TTY as major GUI parts were updated which could lead to a crashing GUI during the update - like the whole DE could crash - I think it was some Xorg updates or systemd updates. Might be that the influencers took those as general example.

2 Likes
  • When it comes to a (quasi) full system upgrade such as the big updates announced in the official #announcements category, then it is always best to completely log out of your GUI session and run the update process in a tty, because certain libraries et al may be in use by your GUI that are going to be replaced by newer ones, and this could lead to some unpredictable behavior. You will either way need to reboot after a major update, because this generally includes a newer version of the kernel.

• When updating only a handful of packages ─ say that there is an update for Chromium and maybe one or two other packages ─ then it's safe to do this from within the package manager GUI, so long as you don't have the applications running that are going to be updated.