I'm unable to boot into OS after (what I believe is) a failed update

Hey everyone, a bit of a newbie here. I moved from Windows 10 to Manjaro a couple of months back, so it's my first proper dive into the world of GNU/Linux, and I have had no issues until now. Today when I went to download and install available updates from pamac, the download process just got stuck and nothing happened for several minutes. Pretty sure it was frozen, and after closing pamac I was unable to start it again. And Pacman -Syu'ing didn't work either. I decided to restart my PC, but I was unable to, and got this:
Error: file boot/vmlinuz-5.4-x86_x64 not found and another telling me to load a kernel first.

So then I am left wondering, is it a bootloader problem or did the kernel somehow get removed? I want to know if I can resurrect my installation or I will have to start from fresh?

Thanks in advance :slightly_smiling_face:

It's your kernel that got removed. The way pacman ─ the back-end behind Pamac ─ works for updates is that it first removes the original installed package and then installs the updated package. So it's very likely that you closed Pamac right when it was updating the kernel, which means that it will have removed the kernel binary in /boot first. So you don't have a kernel, and you don't have a matching initramfs either.

I would suggest booting up from the install medium in live mode, and then in a terminal issue the command...

manjaro-chroot -a

This will detect your Manjaro installation and will mount the pertinent filesystems, and chroot into that installation. Then, try resuming the update by issuing the following command...

pacman -Syu

Hopefully this will complete the update process, but don't presume too early that it would be hanging. Some packages really do take a long time to install ─ e.g. icon sets.