i3 bmenu "Search" (S)? (terminal command?)

Yesterday, I switched from Manjaro GNOME to Manjaro i3 minimal for work, and so far there is only 1 small thing that I have wanted to do but cannot find: the name of the application and (specifically) the correct terminal prompt for what is brought up in bmenu when typing 'S' for "Search." I think that it is something with ranger (rifle), but I cannot track it down. I plan to make an i3 config shortcut to bring up that search menu. Thank you for the help.

rofi
:slight_smile:

fzf, for exact search type 'word

in Ranger press ctrl+f to get fzf esc back to ranger

Thank you.

bindsym $mod+F12 exec urxvt -e "fzf"

does the trick to go straight to fzf with mod + F12.

1 Like

It is find command piped into fzf and then passed to rifle.

Oh! Well, could you please spell that for me a bit more? I am new to find, fzf, and rifle. Thank you.

function file_finder {
	if [ -e /usr/bin/rifle ]; then
		rifle $(find -type f | fzf -e --reverse)
	else
		echo "$INSTALLINGRNG2MSG"
		if [ - e /var/lib/pacman/db.lck ]; then 
			echo "$RIFLENOTINSTMSG"
		else 
			sudo pacman -Sy ranger && rifle $(find -type f | fzf -e --reverse)
		fi
	fi
}

This is the function that is used. And this is the part that you want to run.

rifle $(find -type f | fzf -e --reverse)

If you put that function to your bashrc, you can run it with command file_finder. You could also rename it to just f.

2 Likes

Thank you. That works perfectly for everything except adding an entry to the i3 config file, which (at least based on what I have read in a Stack Exchange thread about the matter) does not play with ~/.bashrc. I have tried several configurations with no luck. What trick might I use to get that function working in the i3 config?

bindsym $mod+F12 exec urxvt -e "rifle $(find -type f | fzf -e --reverse)"