I want to know which packages were installed by default during installation and which were installed by me?

I am new to linux and I wanted to know how I can find out if a package was installed by me or by the system at the time of installation ?

1 Like

normally 1 would remember what they installed.

from a system stand point, it’s all installed by the privileged/root user, you know that part where you type in your password.

Open your file system, and look for

rootfs-pkgs.txt
desktopfs-pkgs.txt

These are files created at installation if I recall correctly, and list the packages installed with the system.

3 Likes

looking at man pacman it looks like the command is:
pacman -Qe

hard to tell.

Nope, -Qe is for:

OPERATIONS
-Q, --query
Query the package database. This operation allows you to view installed packages and their files, as well as meta-information about individual packages (dependencies, conflicts, install date, build date, size). This can be run against the local package database or can be used on individual package files. In the first case, if no package names are provided in the command line, all installed packages will be queried. Additionally, various filters can be applied on the package list. See Query Options below.

QUERY OPTIONS (APPLY TO -Q)
-e, --explicit
Restrict or filter output to explicitly installed packages. This option can be combined with -t to list explicitly installed packages that are not required by any other package.

Basically packages explicitly installed (some packages are installed because they are required by something else you install, a dependency, explicitly installed packages may or may not be dependencies for other package, but they are marked as explicitly installed because they are the main target from a pacman command, example pacman -S unrar will explicitly install unrar)

I sometimes wish pacman “Install Reason” contained more than

• Installed as a dependency for another package, or
  • Explicitly installed