I just love the Arch wiki !!!

So this is a definitely a RAVE.

I've been having trouble with postgresql and as I'm a total noob with that (I'm taking a Django course online which uses it).

What I messed up:
I updated my manjaro system as I always do, and in the process I updated postgresql.
BOOM. the database and software versions are out of sync, and I'm getting a whole bunch of cryptic error messages.

Solution ?

the wonderful Arch wiki

So, I just RTFabulousManual and guess what? it's now fixed and working. I've added postgresql to my IgnorePkg list in /etc/pacman.conf and voilà! problem solved.

Anyway, despite days of headaches, the solution was right there the whole time.

Anyway, a huge thank you and kudos to the Arch community at large!

9 Likes

:smiley: The Arch Wiki is kinda like Tigger--there's only one. :smiley:

8 Likes

So true ! It's an amazing reference for all arch based distros but even beyond. I'm humbled by the amount of work that's gone into it and by the people behind it.

I've not yet tried a pure arch install as I love manjaro but I'm sure I'll try one day.

Anyway, like all of us here I owe that community a lot, so once in a while I just want to say so :slight_smile:

2 Likes

As the saying goes: We're standing on the shoulders of giants.

3 Likes

hmm interesting.
Well as I said I'm a total noob with postgresql -and databases in general. So I just followed the advice I found on the Arch wiki that states:

To ensure you do not accidentally upgrade the database to an incompatible version, it is recommended to skip updates to the PostgreSQL packages:

And given all the steps required to update the database, I'm not sure how pacman could handle updating both the package and the database, or even if that's desirable actually?

I'll leave this to others who know more about this than I do, but thanks for your comment :+1:

Really what you should be following is every other part of that wiki section: