Manjaro forum App

I’ve just installed Manjaro mobile App (Android), and i’ve realized there is no forum in there.
So i’m wondering if there is any plan of adding it?
If not, is there any API that we can use to build one?

I’m an a Flutter developer and i’d be interested in contributing to the development of the Forum

The Discourse forum looks and functions pretty good from a mobile web browser. Have you tried that?

2 Likes

Nah, but don’t you think an Mobile App would be better…

Not really.

The mobile interface for discourse is pretty good. You should try it.

So there is a Forum of Manjaro in there?

Open your phones web browser and go to forum.manjaro.org

That’s not the focus of Manjaro. Don’t sidetrack it. Manjaro is an excellent operating System and they USE other tools that specializes and focuses on what they do best.

Now you lost me.
You mean i should use this website/forum via mobile browser?

if so, i’m using it now.
But i was asking about a mobile app?.

There is none. If you have to save a link to the forum on your phones desktop.

Because the forum is running on Discourse you will get an app like experience from above action.

1 Like

So what would a mobile app give you, that the website does not, at this point?
What’s the benefit of having it as an app, compared to the website?

1 Like

:grinning:
I don’t know man, i just wanted to contribute, wanna do something useful :wink:

I think a discourse app would be useful rather than a manjaro specific app, so you can have all forums in one app. I know discourse works really well on a mobile phone but you can’t add it to your app drawer only a shortcut on your homescreen. If you are following several different forums your homescreen will soon get cluttered

I now there’s an "official "discourse app but it’s pretty poor

1 Like

discourse is complex if it is to propose less there is no utility. to do only the same thing is already a huge work (one year ?)

https://docs.discourse.org/

2 Likes