How to run Samba

kde
samba

Hello, everyone.

I have been running various Linux distro’s for a little over 4 years, but I still consider myself a Linux newbie (I’ll probably always be that way since it’s way too late for me to learn how to replace all the mainframe and Windows knowledge I accumulated over the last 45 or so years. I am currently a Mint user, but even more than that I’m a KDE user and Mint is planning to drop their KDE-embedded iso. So, I have been looking at a lot of distro’s that continue to support KDE. I’d bet you have heard this before - from other Mint-migrants.

So far I am having success and fun with Manjaro. It seems pretty intuitive even though the Arch-based package manager is quite different from the Debian-based systems I am somewhat familiar with.

My first problem is that, although I can ping my Manjaro box on my network, I can’t actually access it. Often that’s because a username/password hasn’t been added to Samba. I tried that but there is no Samba.conf file. It usually gets initialized when the Samba server runs. However, I can’t find a Samba server. What am I doing wrong - or not doing? How does this work in Manjaro?

Thanks in advance…!!

you can install manjaro-settings-samba package and also the archlinux wiki for doc

Forgive me for intruding. If the best and kindest offer of help you can give to someone who has just started with Manjaro, and posted here for the very first time is, “here’s a book… go look it up” then I want to sincerely apologize for interrupting you. I assume you can answer any question I or anyone else might ever have with, “go look it up”.

This is your site and you may behave however you wish, but my enthusiam for Manjaro had just ended. I’ll not be suggesting this site/product to anyone else.

Again, thank you for the time you gave, and I’m sorry I disturbed you.

Thats just priceless. I’m sure you scold others for sharing recipes with you too. :roll_eyes: