Managing kernels and updating system & new to zsh

Hello Everyone.

I’m very new to linux, I dabbled a bit with mint and ubuntu learning a bit about regressions and some basic terminal commands then I jump to Arch and went through months of agony (because the first time I installed Arch I didn’t even know the cd .. command) installing and configuring the system afterwards. It taught me a heck of a lot and quickly but today I had to give up on Arch because I don’t have the skills to administer the system and trouble shoot issues. Not yet anyway, hopefully I’ll return to Arch as a power user. Anyway installing Manjaro gnome today was so so so pleasant. Having a fully fledged system up and running in such a short space of time is a wonderful thing.

When I first installed there was only kernel58 installed and I had dummy output and no sound. I found a fix on stack exchange and later saw the same fix here. The fix was to edit /etc/default/grub and put snd_hda_intel.dmic_detect=0 in the grub file. When I first did it following instructions from stack exchange I didn’t put it between the two apostrophes so it didn’t work. I ended up downloading linux57 and linux-lts. The lts kernel worked and the sound was fine. Then I found the fix on the manjaro site and it explained about putting the line between the two apostrophes, now it works.

I have a couple of questions.

1. When I downloaded the kernels I used sudo pacman -S linux... etc
  2. When I updated grub I used sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
  3. When I checked what kernels are on my system I used pacman -Q | grep linux
  4. If I wanted to delete a kernel i’d use sudo pacman -Rns linux.....

I noticed manjaro has its own way of handling kernels with commands starting with mhwd is it okay for me to manage kernels with the commands I learnt whilst on Arch?

how do I know how much space I have for kernels? At the moment I’m running linux58 but I’ve got linux57 and linux-lts I think it’s 5.4.