I think I just killed my RTX 2080 and possibly mobo with cuda_memtest

Ok so, really I think I might have just killed 3 gpus and a motherboard in a series of unfortunate events.

Last night I finally got manjaro installed after days of install issues due to nvidia driver problems (you can see my other post to the forum for that ordeal)

So today I was thinking maybe I should find a way to test my RTX 2080 and make sure it’s not having any errors. I did a bit of research and came across a program called cuda_memtest which sounded like just what I needed to test.I found it on the AUR and installed it.

Now, I am fairly new to Linux so this next part is going to sound dumb, but I wasn’t sure if cuda_memtest had a gui or not so I typed it into the kde start menu (probably not the actual name for it, but it looks like windows start). When I did that it didn’t come up until I typed the full name and it said Run cuda_memtest, but it showed the terminal icon, so I figured it must be only terminal based, but clicked run cuda_memtest anyway and was expecting a terminal window to pop up, but no window ever popped up. I did hear my fans ramp up quite a bit, but I couldn’t see what was happening, so I opened a terminal window up and typed in sudo cuda_memtest and hit enter. When I did this I saw some info displayed but it was saying out of memory. At this point, unsure what to do I rebooted. My fans sounded like they were running at 100% until my pc shut down, I assume that cuda_memtest was trying to run in the background. So I reboot, but no longer get any display at all. I can’t even see the bios, pc seems to not be posting. Looking at my motherboard troubleshooting LEDs I see the vga light lit up. I try a cmos reset and try rebooting a few times, it doesn’t change anything.