How to be more welcoming to new users

Some of the links below might be deleted (I'm a newbie to this forum: just a little over 2 months experience) and only visible to moderators. My apologies if that would be the case.

So earlier today, I tried to warn a user that he might be buying the wrong hardware but apparently the user took offence, so:

• I deleted my post
  • I DMed the user with an apology, pointing out that:
    • the post was in the Newbie Corner so I assumed he was a newbie
    • I added emojis: :wink: :innocent: to try and point out that I wasn't belittling them, just assuring they didn't buy the wrong hardware.
  1. Where did I go wrong?
  2. How can I improve myself as I'm not human and human interaction sometimes baffles me.

:sob: :scream:
:wink: :innocent:

2 Likes

Feels like amazonas :slight_smile: spam | promotion.

But ... sun is shining go out and relax a little bit :slight_smile:

3 Likes

If the new user isn't friendly you don't need to be welcoming.
The moderators and community expect you to be neutral and not answer in the same way.
You can flag a post and the moderators will take care of the new user with the wrong attitude.

Besides: The whole topic is against forum rules. https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=Forum_Rules#Product_Recommendation_Requests
The OP should ask the question in the online shop or at a specialized hardware forum.

11 Likes

65-75% of human communication is non-verbal. Forums of any type are incapable of transmitting the emotions behind the written word. Emoticons are a poor substitute.

Look, I invariably piss-off at least one person per day here. It's not usually intentional but at best, even the most innocent of posts can be easily misinterpreted. (Me, thumbnails & a horribly insulted @Kreon comes to mind lately).

You are responsible for your own feelings and nobody elses. To believe otherwise sets yourself up as a false deity. :wink:

regards

6 Likes