How do I get familiar with my system?

Hello! I am new to both using GNU/Linux and Manjaro. I was wondering if there are any things I can do to get more familiar with my system and how to use it more effectively. I would love to get the most out of my OS, so any responses to my question would be greatly appreciated!

the linux foundation runs a free linux101 course through edx. i haven’t taken it myself; keep meaning to.

Thank you very much, Steanne! This seems like a very nice resource and I am excited to dive right in.

Make mistakes - it is the only way to learn.

Keep regular backups :smiley:

Read a lot. When using Manjaro read the Manjaro User guide which can be found in your menu. (for KDE in Utilities --> Manjaro User guide)
Go to the wiki page:
Come here in the forum and search for subjects you want to know more about

As others have stated also, just do it but make sure you have backups of your data and maybe also from your OS. When you screw up, and you will, it’s easy to restore the backup and start over in a couple of minutes.
But mostly: just have fun.

Aervec@ Hello and welcome to the forums. Learning how to get the most out of your Linux system / Manjaro requires time and patience. The best way to learn the system is to explore what’s installed

Manjaro has some great documentation on how to use Manjaro you might want to start there also

There are so many great videos on Youtube that will explain some of the features that Manjaro has to offer. you’re already ahead just by asking this simple question.

Best of luck using Manjaro it’s a great OS

Use every setting, run every application, break things, fix things…

Read these forums, every topic, every day…

…and Don’t Panic! :smiley:

Remember that there is no such thing as Magic. There is always a reason for everything, and sometimes that reason is more complicated than you’d care to know. Just always keep in mind that there is a reason everything behaves the way it does…