Homephoning? Callin' Elvis ...?

privacy

Hi,

I am new to Manjaro (xfce, stable) and happy that it installed so easily on my Toshiba Pro (new), parallel to the shabby W10.

Believe it or not, I left Ubuntu because of the Amazon Lens and Linux Mint because of hardcoded Google which made the systems constantly leaking private data.
(They repaired it, but it took a huge effort to make them do it.)
No, I do not consider my data as the most precious data for the datacraken. I am not important now. But as everyone of us, we might be important tomorrow. Or our friends whose data we also have on our devices: emails, docs, pics, movies etc.

So I would like to know to what extent Manjaro is constantly delivering data (of any sort) to other computers than mine - calling home, calling somewhere else?
I mean the sort of ‘Amazon Lens’ or ‘Linux Mint’ constantly pinging Google every 15 minutes by default.

Does anybody know anything about it?

Thank you in advance, I would be happy to learn that I can trustfully go on with Manjaro, because I like it.

Cheers :soccer:

Privacy Issues On Manjaro
Manjaro KDE-minimal 17.1.8
Phoning home

I believe that network-manager pings apollo.archlinux.org regularly, but that’s about it I think.

Thanx! :star_struck:

And that’s because it’s a rolling release?

As far s I know, it’s because network manager checks if you have an active connection.

There has been threads about this ping on this forum before, so you can search for those to get an insight to that. :slight_smile:

AFAIK - no data is delivered to any computer.

But as software retrieves files it will leave traces in the form of an IP address and that is unavoidable.

As @Strit says NetworkManager uses ping to check for internet connection.