Help with Timeshift setting

Hello, can anyone help me? I have no idea which to choose on wizard for my preferences snapshot.

I want to backup:

• The current state, config, app, and wallpaper and desktop layout that I’ve used (if possible)

I don’t want to backup:

• All my document which reside in /home/file etc…

Maybe OOT, but why my /home has hidden file? Are those just config file or where the app is installed?

Sorry to create this topic, I’ve never used this kind of system backup before. Never knew this is a powerful tool.

That is possible, but the official policy of the developer of timeshift is that it should not be used for backing up the home directories. It’s intended for backing up the operating system only. There are other backup tools for backing up your home directory. :wink:

But if you do want to go there nevertheless… :arrow_down:

1. Click on Settings. :arrow_down:

2. Click on Users . :arrow_down:

3. If your user account is not in the list, add it and then select what you want to back up. :arrow_down:

4. Click on Filters. :arrow_down:

5. Add directories to the list ─ one at the time ─ that it must include or exclude. A + in the left column means “include”, and a - means “exclude”.

Hidden files ─ i.e. files whose name starts with a period ─ are almost always user-specific configuration files. They are hidden because they would otherwise clog up the view when you’re doing a listing of your documents, and so on. :wink:

1 Like

So does it include /home? Let me guess, it’s not :smiley:
Only root folder

Ahh, so that .firefox on /home are my configuration setting. The actual file are on /root

/root == :C
/home == : D

Am I right? Sorry for ask, this new disk system really confuse me.

By default, /home is not included. You can include it though. See step #2 and #3 in my previous post.

:arrow_down:

Yes, all files and directories (“folders”) in your home directory are configuration files for your personal user account.