Help needed: Creating a MySQL database and using Java to manipulate it

Hello, i'm having problems while creating a MySQL database in Manjaro.
For context: I'm a computer engineering student, and i need to create a Java application to control a MySQL database.

I did found some tutorials regarding MariaDB, and i was able to install it, and confirm that the database is online. The only problem is when i step on the java side of connection. I did downloaded the jdbc mariadb driver, and currently i'm using a test code i found on arch linux wiki specifically for this case. I included the driver in the classpath, but during code execution it fails compiling and throws me a java.sql.SQLException: No suitable driver found for jdbc:mariadb://127.0.0.1:3306/test.

I hope not to be making some gross mistake, and please be patient with me.

Firstly, https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=Forum_Rules#Homework

Secondly, you're paying to be on a course so you should use the locally-available resources. That means teachers, lecturers, demonstrators, technical support, other students, etc. etc. etc.

Thirdly,

you'll have to be much more specific if you want help with a programming issue.

Alternatively, you may simply need the mariadb-clients package.

1 Like

Good night.

Actually, it's not a homework -> Just learning new stuff because i feel like i'll have to use it later, and i did tried to go for local help -> No Linux users around.

I'll try to detail it a bit more:
The objective: To create a DB and manage it with a Java application.
Creating the DB: Was able to create it using MariaDB and following a Arch Linux wiki tutorial -> Confirmed that it is indeed online using MySQL Workbench.