Help, I broke my Manjaro[SOLVED]

Hello,

I’ve been using Manjaro XFCE for about 4 months now, all good with that. Yesterday I decided to check Gnome out(because it has some extensions that allow you to configure the power management of the laptop in an easier way) so after trying it out for a few hours and realizing that I love XFCE, I tried to uninstall Gnome, and thats where my problems come from, after removing Gnome I’m not able to go back to the normal GUI like I always did, when I boot i get prompted to the CLI tty stuff, I can go back to my GUI after typing “startx” but I want things to be the way they were before, where I would boot straight into my login GUI interface and handle things from there. Thanks a lot to anyone that helps me. First post.

Hello Pablo and welcome to the Manjaro forums!

Maybe you have something else, but I think the first thing to try is to set the default boot target:

sudo systemctl set-default graphical.target

Let’s see what happens

Hello,

Ok, just tried that, after doing “reboot” after it goes back to the same CLI

Hi!
Besides the login problem, I’d tell you that you don’t need to install other DE just to try a better power manager for laptops, There’re some apps to do so. You have tlp and tlpui, slimbookbaterry, and others. Tlp come by default in manjaro instalations, it comes with a default config.Tlp is a cli application, it’s for terminal use, but you can install tlpui, that’s a frontend gui, much easier to configure.
Personally I use slimbookbattery, it use tlp but it has a gui inteface so easy to configure.
Been said all that, if you want to install other DE, it’s up to you, I’m just saying there other options

4 Likes

Ok. Then you have some else and we have to find it. Run

sudo journalctl -b

and try to find some error that tells you why is not booting in graphical mode.

If you don’t find it, you cant upload the logs with:

sudo journalctl -b | curl -T - https://aptget.xyz/journal.txt