Help a total newb to install Manjaro XFCE

Hi guys!
I’m totally new to Manjaro. On My HP 635 Laptop I already have Win 10 and Linux Mint 18.3 installed (multi boot), and have one more free partition for Manjaro XFCE (I would really like to try it).
After selecting all the locales, drivers (free/non free), etc. the install just hangs in text mode (trouble with syncing, error with HDD0, something like that).

The error starts with:

1.127279 Kernel panic - not syncing : VFS : Unable to mount root fw on unknown block(0,0)
1.137408 CPU: 0 PID: 1 Comm: swapper/0 Not tainted 4.14.39-1-MANJARO #1
1.1.37455 Hardware name: Hewlwtt-Packard HP 635 Notebook PC /3577, BIOS F.43 12/13/2011
1.137505 Call Trace:
1.137561 dump stack+0x5c/0x85
1.137608 panic+0xe4/0x252
1.137656 mount_block_root+0x27f/0x2e0
1.137703 ? set debug_rodata+0x11/0x11
1.137749 prepare_namespace+0x130/0x166
1.137794 kernel_init_freeable+0x1e7/0x1f9
1.137841 ? rest_init+0xd0=/0xd0
1.137886 kernel_init+0xa/0xf7
1.137931 ret_from_fork+0x22/0x40
1.138024 Kernel Offset: 0x13000000 from 0xffffffff81000000 (relocation range: 0xffffffff80000000-0xffffffffbfffffff)
1.138079 ---end kernel panic - not syncing : VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)

Please help!
P.S. Remeber I’m a total newb…

Don’t multipost, thanks, you can edit what have you written before

Did you write all this on a secondary computer?

It is not obvious if one is not a kernel developer - what is going on.

But two things comes to mind:

1. Did you shut down Windows completely? no fastboot, no hibernation.
  2. Did you disable secure boot in bios?

Sorry! Won’t happen again!

1 Like

Hi,
Yes, I’ve turned off the computer before trying to install Manjaro.
Not sure about the secure boot, never had similar problems before with other distros…

We will bear with you - and your Linux journey starts somewhere but I must admit that Manjaro and other Arch based distro’s is not the best starting point.