HDMI Audio working weird

Hi, I’m new to the Linux world and have been using Manjaro now for a couple of weeks.

My problem is that when I’m connecting my Laptop with my TV over HDMI, the sound is not playing always. Not always because I found out that it will work if I play the test sound Front_Left.wav first and then start a mp3 or a video while the test sound is playing. If I just start a mp3 or some videos it won’t play sound.
The same goes for Youtube videos in Brave Browser, it won’t play sound if I haven’t initiated the play test sound. On the other hand Firefox plays Youtube videos without any problems. I can make Brave Browser play Youtube videos with sound if I have another video playing in Firefox.
It’s like Brave Browser and VLC Player (or any other application for playing mp3) need a previous start sound active to play the video or mp3 sound.

With the build in speakers there is no problem, it only occurs when I have HDMI connected and want to play audio via HDMI.

I think it should be something with PulseAudio but I’m unable to find a solution to get it working without this trick with playing something first.
I also found out that the same case occur with other distros, I tried via live usb stick Fedora, Ubuntu and Mint, always the same problem.

Sorry for my language, but I’m really struggling to find the right way to describe my problem.
Thanks for any help

1 Like

I tried yesterday my laptop with another TV and it played all sounds without any problems. Then I tried my brothers laptop with my TV and also no problems.

For my laptop and TV it looks like it won’t play any sound if the sample rate is 44100Hz, audio with 48000Hz are played. Checked it with pacmd list-sinks and speaker-test.