HD quality on Amazon Prime Video

Sorry for my English, I'm not a native speaker.

I'm new to Linux, using Manjaro KDE and enjoying it.

The problem is I can only watch videos on Amazon Prime Video in SD quality (no HD) so the image is very bad. Even the HD icon doesn't appear.

I have already tried Firefox, Chrome, Chromium, installing Widevine and Hal, changing the User Agent.

On this page https://www.primevideo.com/help?nodeId=202064950, it says:

" You can use Chrome to watch Prime Video on Linux/UNIX operating systems (including Chrome OS)); however playback will be restricted to Standard Definition (SD). "

I contacted Amazon support and they said Linux is limited to SD and they would send this issue to programming but I doubt they will fix this.

Is there any way that I can watch in HD quality?

1080p in Prime depends upon the video watched and how Amazon encodes it. You may notice, for example, newer TV series playing in HD, but not a recent movie. And no, I don't know why they do so.

regards

Sadly, no. This is why I do not use Amazon Video (and their selection of content is not the greatest either).

Their selection of videos is a great plus to anyone addicted to Prime's free shipping. Like everyone who lives in Alaska, for instance. :smiley:

1 Like

I know, I just wish I could pay for Prime shipping without having to pay for video

That would be nice but bundling services isn't something new or likely to go away. I no longer live in Alaska but Washington state now, and close enough to Amazon that some shipments arrive before I press the "Buy" button, I swear! :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

So I'll take the "free" videos--which is what it feels like to me--as a plus.

regards

I can watch on 1080p on Windows 10 (dual boot). Problem is only on Linux.

Do you use Netflix? What resolution does it support on Linux?

This isn't helpful as you already know that Amazon only supports SD on Linux.