Get rid of password protection for Samba?

Hi all. I’ve installed Manjaro kde on a little htpc. But I’m running into the same problem that I had in windows: There’s some kind of password protection (that i never set up) that won’t allow me to trade files from one machine to another. It asks me for a username and password, when I go to the network folder and try to get into the other manjaro machine.

I just want to click and drag files out of that folder and onto my htpc desktop. I’ll watch the video file, then I’ll trash it. All very simple and easy and quick. Both machines are running Manjaro kde. But I need to somehow dispense with this password protection, as I do not need it. I tried just making an icon on the desktop to that folder, and it says “Access denied”. I have searched through the settings but unless I’m blind, there doesn’t appear to be any way to simply turn off the password protection. Anyone know how?

An afterthought: Please bear in mind that I’m quite new to linux so any command line instructions will need to be explained in greater detail that you normally would. Thanks!

Ok after doing some searching, I found this:

The config can be shorter:

Create unix user jonnie

useradd jonnie -s /usr/sbin/nologin

Create smbuser

smbpasswd -a jonnie

Create the Linux directory to share

mkdir /mysmbshare

Change the owner of the directory to jonnie

chown /mysmbshare jonnie

smb.conf

[global]
  workgroup = MyWorkGroup
  server string = Hello, use me
  security = share
  guest account = jonnie
  passdb backend = tdbsam

[the_public_share]
   path = /mysmbshare
   writable = yes
   printable = no
   public = yes

All files are owned by jonnie and everyone has rw access to the files.

Can anyone confirm if that actually works? I’m hesitant to go making all these changes, I don’t want to bork my install. I know that messing around in there without knowing what you’re doing or being sure that it won’t hurt anything, is a bad idea.