Freeze on shutdown and switch to nvidia graphics

Hi everyone

I’m new to Manjaro (and fairly new to Linux in general) and have been trying to get a stable system for the last 2 weeks without any luck.

I managed to get the installer to work with the combination of free drivers plus setting nouveau.modeset=0. Post installation I had to set that parameter for every boot.

I’m keen to use optimus-manager if possible. I have the latest version installed and I’m now able to boot without any parameters.

However I have 2 issues: shutting down and switching to nvidia graphics.

When I go to shut down, as soon as I click shut down everything freezes. I’m not able to open tty with `control + alt + f2 and I have to hard reset the laptop.

A similar thing happens when switching to nvidia - my laptop completely freezes and I have to hard reset. I’m assuming they are both related, but my lack of experience has been proving an issue. I’ve lost count of the number of reinstalls I’ve done, but I have a timeshift backup of my current system to I can at least restore to this point whenever I break something :grinning:

Also worth noting I fully updated after installing Manjaro. Also I’m not sure if there should be a splash screen when booting, but all I see is a black screen until I get to the desktop.

Result of inxi -Fxz:

System:
  Host: brett-pc Kernel: 4.19.6-1-MANJARO x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
  v: 8.2.1 Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.14.4 Distro: Manjaro Linux 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: Micro-Star product: GS63 7RD v: REV:1.0 
  serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: Micro-Star model: MS-16K4 v: REV:1.0 serial: <filter> 
  UEFI: American Megatrends v: E16K4IMS.10E date: 08/16/2017 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT1 charge: 46.8 Wh condition: 61.0/65.0 Wh (94%) 
  model: MSI BIF0_9 status: Discharging 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-7700HQ bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
  arch: Kaby Lake rev: 9 L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 44944