First install beside Win7, boot fails with error: sparse file not allowed

This is my first time trying Manjaro, and I seem to have confused the installer (or myself...)

Original setup (Windows 7 Pro 64bit)
1TB NVME drive. MBR Partition table (for historical reasons)
Partition 1: System Reserved
Partition 2: C Drive

2TB HDD. GPT Partition table
Partition 1: Windows swap file and tmp (NTFS)
Partition 2: Linux swap (to be added "swapon" after basic install)
Partition 3: Backup (ext4)
Partition 4: Share (NTFS)

Added Manjaro boot disk
500GB SSD. GPT partitions
Partition 1: /boot/efi (1GB fat32)
Partition 2: /boot (1GB btrfs)
Partition 3: / (16GB btrfs,)
Partition 4: /var (100GB ext4)
Partition 5: /usr (300GB btrfs)
Partition 6: /home (70GB btrfs)

System (Asus Z97M Plus) is set to hybrid boot, UEFI then MBR. Initially I'd be happy to be able to boot manually into Win7 or Manjaro via to BIOS boot menu, then i'll worry about a boot chooser.

The Manjaro installer ran to completion, but after a reset-

• Booting into Windows from the NVME drive is fine, as before

• Manjaro fails to boot with error:

error: sparse file not allowed
press any key to continue

If I hit return I see error like:

ERROR: Root device mounted successfully, but /sbin/init does not exist
Bailing out, you're on your own. Good luck.

In the motherboards BIOS boot menu I notice I have two boot options on the SSD, one is called something like "boot-EFI" and the other one is called "Manjaro-"

Have I confused the installer by setting up a separate mount point for /boot/efi and /boot? (this is a setup I have use before on Debian, which is why I copied it here).

Any ideas would be great.

Yep, that's because you chose btrfs for /boot. The Manjaro version of GRUB ─ which was derived from Fedora ─ does not support btrfs.

The solution is to either format /boot as ext4, or ─ which will be easier in your case, given your additional problem below ─ to install grub-vanilla from within a chroot environment.