Failed To Start Display Manager

I am a newbie in Linux and recently switched from Windows to Manjaro XFCE 21.0 and was playing around with different display managers like lightdm,sddm,lxdm and finally gdm but mistakely i removed all the display managers now I can’t login my PC.

I’m stuck at
[FAILED] Failed to start GNOME Display manager

Please assist me on how to login to my PC again.

Hi @AtuLxOP, and welcome!

As you mentioned, your display manager is now removed. I almost think it can be reinstalled from a live USB, in a chroot environment. To attempt it, do the following:

1. Boot into a live ISO environment.

2. Once successfully booted, open a terminaal and enteer the chrroot environment by running:

manjaro-chroot -a

If succeessful you are now in the chroot environment.

(Be careful from here, as you are now working as root on your installation.)

1. Once there, reinstall the default Display Manager. I think for Xfce it is lightdm, so still in the chroot environment, run:
pamac install lightdm
  1. Wait for it to finish. If successfully done, exit thee chroot environment:
exit
  1. Hold your breath, cross your heart and reboot.

Theoretically it should be fine now.

(If not, well, then I plead useless and brain dead and it wasn’t me. However, if it woorks, feel free to heap on thee praise.)

Hey @Mirdarthos .First of all thanks for your feedback.
I tried booting from a live usb but I’m unable to. It’s showing this error:

ERROR: '/dev/disk/by-
label/MANJARO_XFCE_210’ device did not show up after 30 sec
onds…
Falling back to interactive prompt
You can try to fix the problem manually, log out when you are finished
sh: can’t access tty: job control turned off
[rootfs ]#

Hi @AtuLxOP,

1. If you’re pasting code, or terminal output, to properly format it for display, after you’ve pasted it select everything you’ve just pasted and click on the </> button in the toolbar.