Failed to load Displaymanager, can´t start Manjaro live System

Hello @all

I have been using Manjaro Cinnamon for a few years and now have a problem that I cannot solve myself. I’ve given my pc a new graphics card, an Nvidia 3060TI.
Probably I made a mistake installing the driver when switching to my new graphics card. Anyway, I wanted to reinstall Manjaro. So if I want to start a live system from a USB stick, I get the message “Failed to start Display Manager”. I found no way to start an Manjaro live system. An Ubuntu live system started without any problems.

Is my new Nvidia 3060TI the problem?
I hope someone can help me.

Hi,
I had a similar hickup (well, in my case it was merely a hickup) in that I could not install Manjaro on a laptop. Ended having to use Debian…
What I (in hindsight) could have done is install via the architect. If I recall, this only runs CLI (in the terminal, or in the non-graphical mode) and build up that way.
Basically, this is how I installed Manjaro all the time, Arch too…but…Arch (heaven forbid) vows to never have a graphical install (as far as I recall) :grin:
Melissa
by the way: welcome to the pack :smile_cat:

So I now assume that it is up to LightDM or Cinnamon itself. Gnome, for example, can be started from a USB stick in a live system. I have already tried an older version of Manjaro Cinnamon from the archive with the same result.

And installing Cinnamon over Achiteckt would probably work, but it doesn’t solve the problem in itself.

When you boot the USB drive, do you select Free or Non-Free? If you are having issues, try the Free video driver just to at least get the system booted.

It is the same problem with both drivers. I maked pictures from start for more information but I can´t post it here. And also no link. So I post it later here because now I have no time.

Just a thought, but you may want to find an earlier version of the ISO, use it to install then upgrade…