Encryption and integrity checking just for /home

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Manjaro, but have been using GNU/Linux for many years, and would like to use Manjaro as my main system from now on.

I would like to set up a system with / in plaintext and /home in ciphertext , encrypted and its integrity checked.

I’m mainly interested in these:

1. / in plaintext due to performance concerns as I’m using relatively poor hardware. I would also be fine about a clean reinstall (from a trusted installation medium) preserving /home in case my computer is physically accessed by someone I don’t trust.
  2. Encrypted /home (via block devices, stacked filesystems or anything feasible)
  3. Integrity checks for /home .
  4. Portability between various GNU/Linux distributions and across various machines.
    I would like use Manjaro as my main distro , but still be able to mount Manjaro’s /home in other distributions too (I’m planning to keep the bulk of my data in Manjaro’s /home)
  5. High resilience to failures and power outages (which are common here, and I don’t have a UPS).
  6. I do not trust encryption provided by hard disk vendors (as it is generally closed-source, non-portable and may possibly contain backdoors).
  7. Supports resizing with negligible chances of data loss.
  8. High performance and low power consumption even on relatively poor hardware.

I’ve found the following options from Data-at-rest encryption - ArchWiki and many other places:

1. Encrypt a partition with LUKS , then set up a BTRFS filesystem on top (for integrity checks).
  2. Use gocryptfs. (I don’t know how to automount /home with this)
  3. Use ZFS (I would like to avoid this, due to its relative instability and its licensing).
  4. Use systemd-homed (I would like to avoid this, due to its dependence on systemd and as it is not portable to MX/antiX systems using sysvinit).

I would like to set it up preferably with Manjaro’s GUI installer, or else using the command line.