Dvgrab no camera exists

Hi I am a newbie. I want to capture video recorded on a sony DCR-HC 21 using a fire wire. I have the correct cord from the camera to the fire wire card. Installed dvgrab. terminal says: no camera exists. I find very vague information on checking if the fire wire card is seen by Manjaro, how to check if every step along the way is there; or I might not understand what the instructions are telling me. Can anyone walk me through it? I would certainly appreciate it.

It would probably be useful to know which instructions you are referring to.

… similar to the above: in response to what?

There are different sites that tell me to check things like are you in the video group? Is your kernel handling your fire wire card? is your firewire seen by your computer? I know I am using kernel linux 6.0.5_rt14-3.

again:

you know - we don’t :man_shrugging:

dvgrab says to install it and hookup your camera to firewire. run dvgrab in the terminal with your camera on play. That’s all I know. Trying to troubleshoot “no camera exists” leads me down numerous paths like mentioned before. One even suggested to go into /etc/mod prob.d/Blacklist-firewire conf. Raw 1394. another suggestion says it sounds like a permissions issue. Try finding the dev file used by the capture device (usually raw 1394) and cmod 666 or 660 maybe you have the drivers but no permission to use them.I have no clue.

… but you just mentioned that there are these numerous paths - never actually what or where they are

But:
I have got no firewire device and thus have zero experience in dealing with those.

likely the module is missing or not loaded automatically
… or the cable is faulty …

have a log running in a terminal
journalctl -f
and see what the system is seeing when you plug in and disconnect your device - if it can see anything
that would be my first step to approach the problem

If the system can’t see anything - any state change - it won’t do anything.