Dual monitor configuration keeps making computer go into power saving mode

hallo. this is my second post, apologies in advance for any errors made. i am not good with computer

when i use a dual monitor configuration, a problem sometimes manifests. my screens’ refresh rate change, if there’s any audio playing it skips, then the computer goes into power saving mode. i cannot turn the computer back on after this and a restart is the only way to get out of this.

i had previously thought this had something to do with the fact i was using two adapters(and HDMI-to-VGA and a DVI-to-VGA adapater) for each screen, but i have managed to replicate the problem without them, so i am at a loss as how to proceed.
it has been suggested to me that this must be an issue with my power supply, however i have not found any solutions on that front.

old post:

i have two CRT monitors that i wish to use in a dual monitor configuration, however my graphics card(an RX550) only has a HDMI and DVI socket. this is an issue since my CRT monitors only have a VGA port, so i resorted to using a HDMI-to-VGA and a DVI-to-VGA adapter for the two monitors.
both adapters work fine on their own, however when both are plugged in, the issue arises:
at first everything seems to be working fine, the monitors are recognized by the OS and i can change their configurations with xrandr.
however after some minutes, the refresh rate the monitors change(which i notice because at this refresh rate one of the monitors exerts an ear shattering noise) and after a few seconds both monitors shut down and enter power saving mode.
i have tested a dual monitor configuration with one of the CRTs in the DVI-to-VGA adapter, and a regular LCD monitor plugged straight into the HDMI port without an adapter, and the issue does not manifest, so i think the problem must have something to do with how the graphics card is handling the two adapters.