What are the advantages or disadvantages to using Manjaro instead of Ubuntu-based distros?

Hi there,

My name is Alex and I am not very experienced with Linux, having only used Ubuntu and Linux Mint so far.

Can anybody tell what are the advantages or disadvantages to using Manjaro instead of Ubuntu-based distros?

Thank you!

1 Like

Hi,

About the advantages:

• Manjaro is a rolling release distro, which mean your software will be more up-to date
  • pacman is far better than apt/dpkg, and you wont have to deal with those non-sense ppas anymore
  • The AUR

Inconvenients :

• Less stable due to it being a rolling release
3 Likes

I completely disagree.

While that might be true for the testing branch, and probably is for the Unstable branch, the stable is rock solid, provided you do proper maintenance.

11 Likes

@Kuchenmampfer you forgot to mention that folk here is really helpful :smiley:

Aside of this after trying Kali and Fedora - I had less issues with Manjaro.
So my personal opinion is that this distro is so useful and convenient that after using Windows (1993-2008 / at work 2010-2013 : 2021-now) and Mac from 2008 until now,
I switched from macOS in my private life to Manjaro as my daily driver.
Event when I am fully immerse in Apple ecosystem (only macOS, iPadOS, WatchOS and iOS in my whole family).
So - enjoy the sweetness and few pains. Use and learn!

1 Like

Why asking ?
Just install and test by yourself, your own experience will always prevail over the testimony of others

5 Likes

Thanks!

So the software manager for Manjaro is called Pacman, and I won’t have to deal with PPA’s anymore.

Does that mean I won’t have to manually search the PPA in order to find and install the latest version of software like I used to do on Ubuntu for example?

Also, I read that AUR is the default package manager for Manjaro. Does that mean AUR and Pacman are the same thing? Sorry I’m really new to all this.

1 Like