Does Manjaro use ibus, fcitx, something else, or nothing?

Hi,
In this post I’m not asking for help solving a specific issue, but rather I’m trying to understand and learn something; so please bear with me, or don’t, but just be warned about that.

Concise summary of the question: does Manjaro (by default, as freshly installed in the KDE edition) use iBus or fcitx as an input method for keyboards such as Spanish, or neither of those? And if it’s neither (as it looks to me) how is that possible, does it use some other input method framework, or is an input method framework not necessary for that? And if so how come Spanish keyboards don’t work in other distributions such as OpenSUSE unless you install one of those? What even is an input method?

Now the full story with context.

I’m new to Manjaro and previously I had been using OpenSUSE, both with KDE (and before that, years ago, Ubuntu with Gnome).

I don’t have a solid understanding of what an Input Method is: all I understand is somehow it has to do with, among other things, allowing you to type characters beyond those that can be typed by hitting a single key on a keyboard. For example, when you use a Spanish keyboard, and you hit the key ´ followed by a vowel (e.g. an “a”), you get an accented vowel (e.g. an “á”); and I seem to understand, in order for that to work, an Input Method is needed - or that’s what I thought. And similarly, I seem to understand Input Methods are needed in order to type language such as Chinese or Japanese, which have hundreds of characters, with special keyboards that don’t. But I’m not interested in Chinese or Japanese.