Disk image is only available for reading

Hello, I’m new to the Linux world and its pretty good so far. However I’m having this problem with my HDD where I can only read the content but cannot create or remove anything. Id like to use this disk as my download folder but cannot create a folder or nothing as I said before. If anyone has idea how to fix it I will be extremely grateful. Thank you regardless. Pd. Im not available to post any image or link but I tried to share some of my disk info.

Welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

First things first. You’re talking of an entire disk, but HDDs and SSDs have partitions on them, and these partitions are formatted with some type of filesystem. It is the filesystem type that matters in this regard.

Now, I presume that ─ like most newbies ─ you are coming from the world of Microsoft Windows, and Windows uses a filesystem called NTFS. GNU/Linux supports reading from and writing to NTFS drives, but there are a few caveats… :arrow_down:

1. GNU/Linux is a UNIX-/POSIX-style operating system.

UNIX is an operating system architecture with a built-in security model based upon file ownership and permission masks. This ownership and these permissions are stored in the filesystem itself.

NTFS does not support this and will not store any POSIX information, which means that the file ownership and permissions have to be emulated in the kernel’s virtual filesystem layer whenever the NTFS filesystem is mounted into the UNIX directory hierarchy, and these emulated permissions apply to the whole filesystem ─ they cannot be set for individual files, and they cannot be modified while the filesystem is mounted.