darktable 3.0.0 released

So hopefully it will arrive at our Pacman or Pamac soon! :smiley:

1 Like

It's already in Unstable. Check it out!

1 Like

Sorry I'm still new to manjaro. How do I do that?

Does "unstable" mean to-be-tested or something else? And for how long it remains there?

My recommendation would be to have a second Manjaro installation where you can mess around and test what comes. The first installation will stay on the Stable branch.

Do you know how to install a second Manjaro system in dual boot?

Oh. I could in Vbox I guess. That's the easiest route and works very fast on my machine.

But how long does package remain in the testing/unstable phase?

1 Like

It depends on whether there are blocking issues. Like some essential programs not working or some graphics cards failing to boot to graphical session. About 1-2 weeks is the regular pace of Stable updates. Just see the titles in this category https://forum.manjaro.org/c/announcements/stable-updates

1 Like

I'm running it under Arch (stable). One of the reasons why I now run Arch on my main laptop is because with Manjaro I sometimes had to wait two or three weeks in order to be able to use a new, stable version of Darktable. I now run Arch on main laptop and Manjaro KDE on my backup laptop. I know that I could compile Darktable from source, but I had bad experiences using the same database with stable and unstable versions of the program.

Oh yay! I use DarkTable so I am excited for the update.

Well I understand you, but arch is far too complicated for me. Manjaro is just right. But yeah, I wish we could get new stuff faster and it should be on us whether it's stable, working or not. Issue some disclaimer and you're good to go.
It's not a system, foundational app.

Just switch to the unstable repo then.

How Manjaro Repos work:

Arch unstable -> Arch testing -> Arch Stable -> Manjaro unstable -> Manjaro testing -> Manjaro Stable

For an overview how the different stages look like see here: