D.E. Upgrades suggestion

Hi guys,

I have been reluctant to update my system this time, because of all the Plasma issues around. No, I’m not blaming Manjaro, nor am I just complaining. I’m simply stating a fact that is leading me to make the suggestion. I’m not a programmer so don’t have any idea how easy/hard this’ll be. But if it could work, it could work for more than just Plasma.

Suggestion:

Create a way during the update that allows only the DE to be upgraded, But mark it with warnings that it is not recommended nor supported. Something like:

$ pamac upgrade
DE is KDE Plasma, version 2.4.

Would you like to upgrade to KDE Plasma 2.5? (y/N) y

oooooo   oooooo     oooo       .o.       ooooooooo.   ooooo      ooo ooooo ooooo      ooo   .oooooo.    
 `888.    `888.     .8'       .888.      `888   `Y88. `888b.     `8' `888' `888b.     `8'  d8P'  `Y8b   
  `888.   .8888.   .8'       .8"888.      888   .d88'  8 `88b.    8   888   8 `88b.    8  888           
   `888  .8'`888. .8'       .8' `888.     888ooo88P'   8   `88b.  8   888   8   `88b.  8  888           
    `888.8'  `888.8'       .88ooo8888.    888`88b.     8     `88b.8   888   8     `88b.8  888     ooooo 
     `888'    `888'       .8'     `888.   888  `88b.   8       `888   888   8       `888  `88.    .88'  
      `8'      `8'       o88o     o8888o o888o  o888o o8o        `8  o888o o8o        `8   `Y8bood8P'   

The KDE Plasma desktop environment 5.25 is currently in an UNSTABLE and TESTING phase.
Using it  will causee breakage and possibly regressions is NOT RECOMMENDED or supported!

(Should you continue, it is at own risk and NO SUPPORT WILL BE GIVEN. All post relating to this on the
forum will be immediately removed without warning.)

CONTINUE AT OWN RISK? (y/N)

And then go on from there. But without changing branches.

Rationale: