Zero-filling VM before compacting

I’m trying to shrink a dynamically-allocated Manjaro guest on a Windows 10 host in VirtualBox, and—after cleaning up unneeded files with the suggestions here—I’m stuck on the step of zero-filling the freed space. I think I should use zerofree to accomplish this, since I’ve made the maximum size of the VM bigger than physical drive on which it resides. Maybe that will be a problem anyway, I don’t know, but the zerofree page gives me to understand that it would potentially be a problem with alternative commands I’ve seen, like

dd if=/dev/zero of=zero.tmp bs=10M; rm -f zero.tmp

or

cat /dev/zero > zero.fill; sync; sleep 1; sync; rm -f zero.fill

Maybe not. Noob here.

After installing zerofree (pamac install zerofree), I’ve been trying to imitate this way of doing it on Ubuntu, but this zeroing doesn’t seem to work the same way in Manjaro. I first tried enabling the boot recovery mode by commenting out GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY=true in /etc/default/grub, followed by sudo update-grub. That worked, and pressing esc while booting showed that option in the GRUB menu. lsblk -f showed the disk at dev/sda1 of type ext4 mounted at the root. However, it is mounted read/write, so I get this output:

$ zerofree -v /dev/sda1
zerofree: filesystem /dev/sda1 is mounted rw

Uncommenting GRUB_ROOT_FS_RO=true in etc/default/grub did not change this.

I then bashed my head against mount and chroot a while, thinking the answer must be in there somewhere. I have not found it.

I also tried booting with a live iso in the VM’s “optical drive” and got variations on the same theme.

$ lsblk -f
NAME   FSTYPE FSVER  LABEL             UUID                                 FSAVAIL FSUSE% MOUNTPOINTS
loop0  squash 4.0                                                                 0   100% /run/miso/sfs/livefs
loop1  squash 4.0                                                                 0   100% /run/miso/sfs/mhwdfs