Clear Linux

Hello, I'm a complete Linux noob and a huge fan of Manjaro and the AUR. I've installed Clear Linux for like a week now and I've noticed a slight, but noticeable for the keen eye, increase in performance. Is there any way to achieve better performance in Manjaro and if so how do i go on about it?

Generally if anyone has tried Clear Linux here what do you think of the OS and the way bundles work (could someone elaborate)?

1 Like

Clear linux is developed by intel with a ton of out-of-mainline patches.

In their own words "Highly tuned for intel platforms"

Just about no one but intel could ever match it.

2 Likes

Ok, so there is no hope to get the same performance in Manjaro in any way?

Also, what does "out-of-mainline patches" mean? :slight_smile:

What did you install this onto?

You can always have "hope", but what is "in any way" ?

This is a question which cannot be answered, and "impossible questions" lead to a particular phenomenon:

http://slash7.com/2006/12/22/vampires/

If you can identify specific tweaks then they can be applied to Manjaro.

The main question is: What does Clear Linux do differently?

Is is kernel patches? Is it compiling everything -O3? Is it compiling with -mtune=coffeelake -march=coffeelake ? Is it removing anything from the kernel which provides backwards compatibility or anything other than specific Intel platforms? Is it removing anything which would allow for a full desktop system and paring it back to the bare minimum for specific use-cases?

I suspect if the changes Clear Linux are making were more widely applicable then they would be being used by the upstream projects and downstream distros already...

7 Likes

There are things that might be worth stealing though .. for example:

https://github.com/clearlinux/clr-desktop-defaults/blob/master/fontconfig/70-disable-x11-75-100-dpi.conf

$ cat /etc/fonts/conf.d/70-no-bitmaps.conf 
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!DOCTYPE fontconfig SYSTEM "fonts.dtd">
<fontconfig>