"cinnamon --replace" process sucking up the cpu

Hi,

I've got a situation that just seems to have started. A process called "cinnamon --replace" is SUCKING up my cpu's and there are multiple copies of them. It is causing youtube videos to break up. I rolled back to a few days ago with timeshift and it seemed to have fixed it but it's back. I was wondering if anyone else has seen this problem. I'm about to change to a different DE but really don't want to.

Thanks in advance,
Paul
PS. I dual booted with Mint and checked the process. It seems to behave itself and there is only one.

Having the same problems. After some research, I discovered some of the panel widgets I wanted to use was causing my headaches. There are warnings when you use some widgets. My solutions was to used the Bash Widget to create scripts to display what I wanted. This minimized my major issues with "cinnamon --replace".

Hi and thanks for the response. I just installed cinnamon in a VM to see if the problem persisted. I have no panel widgets other then the default and still have 31 instances of the process running. I'm at a loss as to where to look next except for the cinnamon code itself.

Try disabling bluetooth and see if it persists.

I just checked to be sure but bluetooth is not enabled in the VM. It was with my HD installation though.

1 Like

Hmm, let's make sure you're fully updated, yeah?

sudo pacman-mirrors -f5 && sudo pacman -Syyu

I'm seeing (Google searches) that there's perhaps a crazed python component causing it (Bluetooth has also been the culprit).

I wish I had better news. It did look like it sync'd some mirrors but no updates. And no change on number or cpu sucking. I did some searching on the internet also and came up with very little in the way of suggestions.

1 Like

Welp, at least we know you're fully updated! :grin:

So, I don't use Cinnamon so I'm totally reliant on searching for stuff.