"tail -f" doesn't work

For some reason I can’t get tail -f to work. It simply doesn’t update. Other similar programs have the same problem. I’ve tried lnav and multitail and neither can sense the files updating.
It doesn’t even work for a local file in my home folder that I manually change. I’m at a complete loss why this is. Any help would be appreciated.

You might be mistaken on how tail -f <filename> actually works.

What, exactly, are you trying to do/accomplish?

1 Like

I’ve been using tail -f for many years, so I think I have an idea of what is supposed to happen. I oculd be wrong ofcourse, but I’m comparing it how it works for my other linux systems.

I think the problem is that inotify is not registering events in such a way that tail -f can see it.

If I use inotifywait to see what is going wrong I can see that MODIFY events are created by adding a line to a file in nano, but in mousepad it creates a DELETE_SELF event at which point it stops following. What I don’t understand is why tail can follow a file even if I edit with mousepad in my other linux laptop. This file editing is just an example of course. The real usercase is following a logfile on a mounted sambashare. This too works for my other laptop (the very same file) so I can’t see why it would be different when using manjaro (or maybe it’s HW related, I don’t know).

Isn’t that something you can normally do?

Hi, @Premi ,
Could you please run the following command on the terminal?
man tail

You could read in the first line of the DESCRIPTION section at the beginning the following text:
Print the last 10 lines of each FILE to standard output

Then, @merlock is right telling you that you have to provide the FILE.

For example,
tail -f /var/log/Xorg.0.log

Hope this help, regards

I’ve been using linux for over 20 years, and have never encountered a use-case for using tail to try and observe file editing ‘on the fly’ (it doesn’t work in vim, either).

-f, --follow[={name|descriptor}]