Can't install mfc-j5740DW

Hello everyone, I’m a Manjaro newbie and couldn’t find a driver for my new printer. There are drivers available for .deb and .rpm but not for Manjaro. I tried to convert the .deb with debtap but failed. Any ideas how I can install it in Manjaro. In Ubuntu the printer works out of the box.

These may be of some help:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Packaging_Brother_printer_drivers

I was able to build the printer driver using the template listed above from the Arch Wiki (.deb method)
The scanner driver is in the AUR. Enable AUR in pamac and install from pamac GUI or in terminal:
pamac build brscan5

I still have the same problem and to be honest, the provided answer is too technical for me to do. There are too many things that I don’t understand. Also it says that this article is out of date.
Unfortunately the printer Brother MFC-J5740DW is not listed in the drivers list.
Since the printer is a very important part of my workstation, this is a very bad situation for me. I’m even worried I need to switch to a different distro to make it work.

For now the only solution to use my multifunctional printer is to switch to my iPad, open up the document to print there and use wireless printing. It is a shame that it’s so difficult to realize the use in Manjaro.

If the printer is a wireless connected one, you likely don’t even need a driver.

CUPS - ArchWiki

Cave: I never owned such a printer and have never used a wirelessly connected printer.

You can probably find something in AUR for a mfc j5 : AUR (en) - Packages

Try with a driver for a printer “similar” to your own. Don’t forget to read the comments for the pacakage you are looking at.

The AUR package is ‘brother-mfc-j5730dw’.

1 Like

OK, I have downloaded the snapshot. How do I proceed?
Should I follow this wikipage? :
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Arch_User_Repository#Prerequisites

I did not need to download any separate driver for my MFC-J880DW.

Installed system-config-printer.