Canoscan LiDE 60 stopped being recognized by Manjaro since the last update

Dear all,

This is a flatbed scanner, which I have been using for about 7 years. I had no problem using it with Xsane until the last Manjaro update. I have searched this forum and did not find any posts about it. I also went through all troubleshooting steps on Arch Wiki (except disabling xHCI) without success. The error message I am getting when I launch Xsane is as follows:

Failed to open device `genesis:libusb:002:018': Invalid argument.

Any more pointers will be greatly appreciated.

You haven't slid the scan head lock across by any chance on the bottom of the scanner by mistake?

I did not realize there was such a switch at the bottom of the scanner, but no, it was not locked. I tried reinstalling xsane and deleting ~/.sane with no avail. I still get the same error message. Of note, scanlite also fails to open the scanner. I tested it on a windows machine to see if the scanner died but it works normally with windows 7.

I can reproduce this behaviour, I've tested it tonight as my young Son is out on his bike with his mates, I had to borrow the scanner off my Son's PC as I given it to him. I have an LiDE 50 doing exactly the same thing on Kernel 5.3rc8 I haven't tested with other kernels but if you are on Stable branch I assume you are running Kernel 4.19?

My HP OfficeJet Pro 8720 scanner is opening properly so it's something specific to these Canon flatbeds unfortunately.

I don't have any further suggestions

1 Like

Yes, indeed I am running 4.19.69-1-MANJARO.

Thank you for confirming this and your troubleshooting efforts with me.

Maybe this thread is helpful, despite concerning a brother scanner:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=210960

The fix was creating the file /lib/udev/40-libsane.rules.

Hope this helps.

1 Like

actually they just tried a different port in the end

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1617831#p1617831