Newbie questions about updating the kernel

I’m fairly new to Linux and up until now I have been installing updates through Pamac with the assumption that it would also keep my kernel updated, but I have recently found out this is not the case. I read through the Manjaro wiki about updating the kernel here:

https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php/Manjaro_Kernels

This has a lot of information about how to update the kernel but doesn’t talk about when or why you should do it. From searching around the forums I have seen people say that there is no point in upgrading the kernel if everything is stable providing you are on one that is LTS. But I have also seen people saying they use kernels with rolling updates so they always have the latest versions (how does this work?).

I’m using 5.9 right now which is the kernel it installed when I started using Manjaro. I noticed that this is neither LTS nor recommended so I’m not sure why it would have installed that one. I can see the following options:

1. Upgrade to 5.10 which is LTS and newer but not “recommended”.
  2. Downgrade to 5.4 which is both recommended and also LTS.
  3. Upgrade to 5.11 as it’s the newest (5.12 is experimental so I guess I should avoid that).

I’m trying to understand why I would choose between each of these options.

What is meant by recommended, is it recommended based on my hardware, or by the kernel developers, or the Manjaro devs?

Do I need to install newer kernels for compatibility with the latest versions of software packages?

Sorry for all the questions, I did Google many of these things but I’m just confusing myself even more.

1 Like

This is usually because the user has some new hardware, that benefit from having the newest kernels and such.

Recommended by the Manjaro devs. This is usually the prior LTS kernel and older LTS kernels, since they have been proven very stable over a longer period of time.