Can we have in the install slideshow a tip about reading stable announcements?

I am a pretty noob user. But after a couple of years i found out that the only way to avoid breaking the system before an upgrade is to read the stable announcement post, evaluate the possible issues and follow the provided instructions.

My question is: why is this information not relayed to all the noobs installing Manjaro??? Can we get inside the install slideshow in Calamares a slide with a warning tip that explains this? At least this way users have no right to complain if something breaks.

A lot of people think that Manjaro is Ubuntu plus newer and cooler stuff and they don't understand (or don't want to hear about) the innate risks that a rolling release entails. I think something must be done about it.

3 Likes

What is the text mentioned on the 4th slider of the installer, right after creating the user? Do you remember? :slight_smile: (i'm almost tempted to bet you don't remember - but you could check it first and then reply, so it would not be quite fair)
If you don't remember, what makes you think someone else will remember any of the slides?

People can set notifications to read the announcements. Should there be a reminder for it? How about a notification to remind the reminder? :stuck_out_tongue: :wink:

2 Likes

I know that the slides right now are pretty "anonymous", with bland colours and "default linux distros info messages", but that doesn't mean they shouldn't be touched! If a maintaner puts a slide with a warning sign and a tagline saying: " this is a rolling distro, to avoid issues during updates always check stable announcements @ forum.manjaro.org" i think at least 70% of the users would understand the message and act accordingly (for the 30% that never listens obviously nothing can be done).