Brother printers and AUR

I am a noob to manjaro and have always found installing brother printers tedious in linux.

the problem with manjaro is not manjaro itself but the information out there is not always correct. after finally getting my DCP-J4120DW correctly installed it was so easy in the end.
what follows is what works. for my network printer

in add /remove software find manjaro-printer and install it.
whilst in add/remove click the 3 bars icon up top and then the AUR tab. then turn AUR on.

then turn on CUPS. type in the konsole the following …but before read about using sudo

systemctl enable org.cups.cupsd.service but read below

now i used …sudo systemctl enable org.cups.cupsd.service

Why? because it has more authority and using the command without …caused problems. it is riskier security wise but AUR is well vetted so not much risker

then it was so easy. type this into konsole

pamac install lib32-gcc-libs

pamac build brother-dcpj4120dw

but found later that if you enter brother-dcpj4120dw into add/remove software search its there. as is lib32-gcc-libs. but do lib32 first.

now typing in dcp-j4120dw the actual model wont work. need to NOT put that hyphen between dcp and j4120dw and all lower case.
it installs printer and some scanner files but the scanner wont work yet.

then type into konsole… pamac build brscan4
but found it later by typing into add/remove software brscan4 its there.

still scanner wont work as network details need to be entered into konsole

brsaneconfig4 -a name=Brother model=DCP-J4120DW ip= xxx.xxx.x.xx
now even this last step can be glitchy I entered at the end ip=192.168.1.xx but got an error message so then entered ip= 192.168.1.xx see a gap between the = and 192. that worked.
you can get the ip address off the front of the printer lcd screen…press the spanners then the wifi icon then the tcp/ip icon it will be under dns. your ip wont be the same as mine. could also be your system might be the otherway for entering the ip.