Black screen after booting SD card containing Manjaro-ARM-i3-pinebook-20.04.1

I bought a used PineBook with some Ubuntu 16.04 on EMMC which boots ok. I would like to switch to Manjaro and dd'ed the above image to a 64 GB SD card. I turned the PineBook on (with SD card inserted), it recognized the SD card and briefly showed that it will boot from SD card. Then only a black screen, I gave up after 15 minutes. What should I try next? (This is my first try of Manjaro ARM, so I apologize for asking stupid things :slight_smile: )

If you are using DD to flash the SD card, did you remember to uncompress the .img.xz before hand?

Yes. After dd, I used fdisk -l and this showed 2 partitions on the SD card.

2 things I can think of.

1. Make sure it's the correct image you downloaded. There are i3 images for both Pinebook and Pinebook Pro.
  2. Try downloading the latest (20.04.2) and verify that the download completed by comparing the checksums.

Can't remember if the Ubuntu image supports booting from SD card. You will have to check that.

Yes, I double checked that it is for the Pinebook.

Is there one for the Pinebook? https://osdn.net/projects/manjaro-arm/storage/pinebook/i3/ lists only 20.04.1.

This is a very old image. So, it could be missing this feature. If so, what OS image should I install to EMMC (?) first that supports booting from SD card? Or some other approach?

Hm. Oberon might have only updated the Pinebook Pro image then. :slight_smile:

You can install Manjaro directly to the eMMC, if you have an eMMC adapter. If you don't you have to get the current OS to be able to boot from SD.
Maybe it can be updated?

I managed to install (on SD card) several old images: Manjaro 19.02 lxqt (via Pine64-Installer) and Armbian 20.02.1 (via dd). Is this an indication that Manjaro-ARM-... should work too?