Asus N52JV dual GPU laptop - UEFI - bootable USB - BLACK SCREEN after GRUB menu

Hello Community,

I am new and I am here because I would like to get rid of the Windows in my life forever. I have 2 laptops at home and I would like to use mentioned ASUS laptop as a testing machine for learning purposes. This model is from 2009 or 2010.

Currently there is Windows 7 installed on it which I planned to format during Linux installation. For now it appears I can not make to run any linux on it, I only tried these 2 because I want to have Manjaro so badly :slight_smile: maybe I should try some other versions as well. but I believe that the problem is only machine related.

I am new to Linux and at the same time I am not new to Linux :slight_smile: I work as a Network & Security Engineer and have some experience with linux based network devices such as Check Point firewalls, netscaler load balancers, F5 load balancers, etc. or linux servers (log servers, jump servers, etc.), I had some trainings for Linux administration so from my work and home experience I can manage basic OS administration.

I offer knowledge from 10 years of experience in network & security field to this community, feel free to ping me the message or link to the particular thread.

Back to my problem my attempts so far -->>

• 2 different USB 3.0 [16GB and 32GB, both Sandisk Flair]
  • 2 different distributions (Manjaro KDE, Vector Linux - Vlocity 7.1)
  • Rufus [tried ISO and DD as well], LiveLinuxUSB creator, Etcher, Ventoy
  • FAT32
  • UEFI
  • MBR and also tried with GPT
  • Firmware does not have SecureBoot or FastBoot option
  • Original SATA was replaced with SSD some time ago (AHCI is enabled)
  • Vector Linux does not boot at all, windows is booted instead per boot priorities.

MANJARO KDE [latest version]

• boots for GRUB menu but after continuing with booting kernel and system screen, showing nothing,
  • tried ctrl+alt+F2 on black screen - not worked