ARM builder tools, image not booting

Hello there!

I recently decided I would try building a version of Manjaro ARM for my pi 4. I setup a virtual machine and went through the process.

I'm pretty sure there were no errors, but the SD card that I flashed didn't work. I wondered whether I could get any help. There are a few things I probably should mention.

1. I tried building the GNOME editon, completely aware that there might be after affects of it not working.

2. I did have to use google drive to actually get onto my laptop, to the flash. I'm not that experienced in using virtual machines, before you ask...

Anything that I could do differently? Or is this impossible?

I used the ARM tools by the way.

Thanks in advance!

I don't know how virtual machines works with ARM achitectures.

But the images created with the tools, does work on the device it self.

I'm sure that on the thread I looked at, it said that the ARM tools were built to run on x86_64.

Can I build it on a Raspberry Pi using the same tools?

This is the thread: [Wiki] Contributing to Manjaro-ARM

Thanks!

Pretty sure you can't.

The tools are designed to be used on x86_64 hardware.

What you can do, is download an image from the download page and flash that to the SD card.

Right, thanks for confirming that...

I am (currently) using Manjaro XFCE on my Raspberry Pi, and that's been running quite well. However, I wanted to do something fun. A learning expeirience perhaps. And so, I went looking for a way to build an OS for my Pi from scratch. When searching the forums, I noticed the thread that I mentioned earlier. I thought I'd try to build a Gnome image for my Raspberry Pi.

It unfortunately didn't boot from my image.

Did it not boot because I was trying to build a gnome edition? Was the image broken in some way?

That's hard to know.

We would need the entire output of the sudo buildarmoem -d rpi4 -e gnome command.