Archived files don't stay on sd card after removing it

Hello, I’m new to Linux and I was trying a little bit of bash scripting. I wanted to archive and compress files in my home folder and put them onto an sd card, but I ran into two problems:

1. It takes way too long to perform this task

real 2m32,114s
user 0m0,563s
sys 0m0,125s

This is one of the shortest times I got, usually it’s more like 4-5 minutes

1. When I remove the sd card I’m putting the files on and then mount it back, I can’t see my backup.gz file. There’s only a folder backup, which has backup.tar inside. I can’t access this backup.tar, though. In GUI I get this error

Loading the archive ‘/run/media/user/340C-1CEB/backup/backup.tar’ failed with the following error:
No suitable plugin found. Ark does not seem to support this file type.

This is the script I am using. I know there’s probably an easier way to do this, but as I said, I’m only a beginner. There probably won’t be any good use for this script, I just wanted to try it out.

#!/bin/bash
if [ -d “/run/media/user/340C-1CEB” ];then
cd /run/media/user/340C-1CEB
rm -r backup.gz
mkdir backup
cd /home/user
cp -r Documents Downloads scripts /run/media/user/340C-1CEB/backup
cd /run/media/user/340C-1CEB
tar -czf backup.gz backup && rm -r backup
else
exit
fi
exit

Other than this, I also tried archiving my directories directly to my sd card, but that took even longer (15-30 minutes). That is why I’m now first copying them and then archiving them.

I would like to know why this process takes such a long time and why the files don’t stay on my sd card after I remove it.

Thanks to anyone who answers!!

In reply to your first question, it could be a matter of any of the following, or any combination thereof… :arrow_down:

• the speed of the SD card
  • the speed of the bus that the SD card is connected to
  • the amount of available RAM versus the total size of the files being copied