AMDGPU Fan Does not Spin at all

Hello everyone,
I got a new GPU (VEGA 64) and my gpu-fan is just not moving at all.
I am using Dual-Boot with WIN10, there the fan is spinning.
For now i just want it to be set in automatic, i do not care about customized profiles and stuff like that.
I am not experienced with Linux and tried to fix the Problem myself with radeon-profile
https://github.com/marazmista/radeon-profile But i f****d it up somehow.
—My external Hard Drive crashed yesterday and i did not sleep because i restored with ddrescue and i was tired and frustrated in general—
So i tried to install it using an AUR and i installed it via git. I have not much knowledge about systemd, git and AUR so i messed around and try to fix it and remove it before i could reinstall it but now i am stuck and do not know what t do next.

I do not know what information would be helpful, this is my very first Post on a Linux Forum.

All i want is that the fan speed is handled automatically

I would be really grateful if someone could help me out, because right now i do not want to use manjaro, i do not want to damage my new GPU

Sorry for any potential grammar mistakes English is not my first language, thanks in advance.

0 Likes

which Vega 64 did you get? Almost all use zerofan, which means that FANs are off in idle and that is intended.

My Asus ROG Strix Vega64 even keeps the FANs off in games with low GPU demand and only turns them on on high load / high temperature (on Windows and Linux same behaviour)

That your FAN’s are always on in Windows sounds more like the trouble - unless you modified the FAN curve there.

don’t use such crap. It destroys way more than it helps.

1 Like