AMD Ryzen: Problems and Fixes 🔧

amd
hardware
amdgpu
ryzen
raven-ridge

AMD Ryzen: :firecracker: Problems and Fixes :wrench:

Many of the problems concerning AMD Ryzen CPUs and APUs seems to have solutions/workarounds now. Here are some of the most disabling problems with possible fixes. As a newbie I had to do quite a bit of research to solve these for my self, hopefully it can be of use for others as well!

Installing

Depending on the age of the CPU or APU an installation media running a kernel (the live session) that supports the CPU (and GPU) is needed. This has not always been the case, especially for the APUs (which needs drivers for the new GPUs for the live GUI). A solution that has usually worked is to use Manjaro Architect. Please see this tutorial.

Manjaro Architect has not worked for everyone though, and you might have to add this boot option:

iommu=soft

(Soft) Lockups

There are many different types of lockups that has plagued the now many different AMD Ryzen CPUs and APUs. Many probably have had more than one type and therefore several solutions have been needed. A common error message in the journalctl (for different types of CPU/APU and problems it seems) have looked like:

NMI watchdog: BUG: soft lockup - CPU#12 stuck for 23s! [DOM Worker:1364]

First, make sure that:

1. Update the kernel if possible (latest stable should be fine at the time of writing).
  2. Update UEFI (BIOS) if possible.

Most of these soft lockups seem to be solved by a combination of the following three solutions (or workarounds):

1. In UEFI (BIOS) set Power Supply Idle Control (or something similar) to Typical Current Idle (or something similar) .
  2. Add the kernel boot parameter: idle=nomwait.
  3. Disable C6 states (both core and package) with Zenstates.py.

Kernel Boot Parameter

Adding a kernel boot parameter for GRUB in Manjaro:

1. Open the file /etc/default/grub in a text editor.