Advice Needed regarding Sudo/Permissions

I’m a Linux newbie, running Manjaro/KDE for about a week. Recently, I added a USB HD to my box and partitioned it to ext4 and NTFS. The NTFS portion was for sharing with my Windows box. I managed to get this working, not via Dolphin and not the way I want, but working for now.

The etx4 partition, however, has got me scratching my head. It appears both partitions have root as the owner and group. The NTFS portion has full read/write for everyone, but the ext4 partition lacks write privileges for everyone. I’m not sure if this is “normal” or if I missed something while partitioning.

I want both partitions to act as if they’re mine; not that greedy root fellow. After some thought, it seemed I have two options (again, newbie):

1. Increase my user authority/privileges. This sounds like logging in as root. It feels wrong and I’m not sure it would bring the desired result (freely adding/removing files/folders in Dolphin).

2. Change the partition(s) owner/group. This seems like the “proper” way to take control (and pull the rug out from under that greedy root person).

I believe I can change the owner/group using chmod/chown, but I’m not sure whether I should change the owner AND the group, or just the owner. Changing owner to “me” and group to “me” feels like I’m shooting myself in the foot should my user account get scrambled (by a newbie). On the other hand, changing the owner to “me” and leaving the group as root, seems strange.

In the end, I’m the only user on this machine and its ultimate use will be an Emby media server at some point.

I know I sound like an ignorant newbie. The fact is, I am an ignorant newbie, but I’m hoping this post will ensure I don’t become a stupid, ignorant newbie. :slight_smile:

I really need a shove down the right path. Some opinions/examples/ URLs would be nice too.

Thanks, Chris.

I recently ran into this when partitioning a 2TB external USB HDD for backups.